Making a Few Changes

You probably have noticed that I haven’t posted in a while. Trying to write a tutorial for every post was a fast-track to burn out, especially when I was trying to post every week. I feel the need to try a few changes with my blog. Nothing too big–my subject matter will still be everything craft-related.

One of the things I would like to change is how often I post to my blog. I am going to try posting on a random basis. For some reason, I don’t do well being creative on a schedule. Also, if I wait to post projects, I lose some of that creative spark I had while working on the project. I am going to try to write “as the creative spirit moves.”  I think this will allow me to not only have more fun with my blog but to post more frequently without making it feel like a chore.

I would like to make the blog more like a craft journal where I share the things I am working on. I tend to do a small amount of crafting almost every day instead of finishing a project in a day or two. I want to write about the little bits and pieces I have worked on as I go through the project. I do try to finish all the projects I start so you will still be seeing the completed projects as well.  If that doesn’t work, I can try something else. That’s the fun thing about writing a blog. It is always evolving.

You can still ask me to make certain projects. You can ask for tutorials for any project I have posted. I will gladly write a complete tutorial for any project you request. Just leave a comment and ask!

I have a few questions for you:

1. Do you want me to write about my process as I am am working on large projects or just post when I have finished the project?

2. Do you like to see posts come out on a certain day of the week? or Do you prefer to have a nice surprise when I randomly post? Does it matter either way? Let me know what you think about having (or not having) a set posting schedule.

Here’s a special question for family members and other people on my Birthday and Christmas card lists:

3. Do you mind seeing projects posted that are being made as cards or gifts that might be coming your way or would you rather I post things after they have been given to you? For example, if I make Christmas cards and show them on the blog before Christmas, you might see them before you receive them in person. Do you consider that a fun sneak peek or does it spoil the surprise?

Thanks for your feedback. I do enjoy writing about my crafts, but I really enjoy when people read and are inspired by the projects I am creating. With this change in my posting schedule, the best way for you to keep track of when I post is to sign up for email notification. Go to the menu and put in your email address where it says ” Follow the blog by email” and click the follow button. No one but me sees your email address. Your email address will only be used to automatically send you my blog posts. You don’t have to worry about someone else getting your email or getting too many emails from me–blog posts only.

P.S. I do screen my comments before they go live on the blog, so if you want to send me a comment but don’t want it posted on the blog, just say so. I will make sure that your comment is only between you and me.

4 thoughts on “Making a Few Changes

  1. Anna says:

    Hi Sara! I think it makes sense to make in-progress posts for REALLY large projects because it keeps the final post from being ridiculously long. For smaller projects, I would say just one final post would suffice, instead of breaking it up into two. I don’t think it matters what day of the week you post on; just post as you go! And I don’t mind seeing gifts or cards posted. I’m sure they look more fabulous in person anyways! Looking forward to your next post. 🙂

    Like

    • Sara Jean says:

      That sounds like a good idea. I myself don’t mind sneak peeks because things usually do look better in person. I remember pinning a card on Pinterest and then receiving one in person, heehee.

      Like

  2. Tammy says:

    Hi Sara! As you well know, I am not “crafty” at all, but I love to see the finished projects that you are working on! Actually….I stand in awe!! Any day of the week works for me, as I check my email daily and will find your posts. And, I don’t mind seeing what you are making as gifts ahead of time. Again, I’m amazed at your talent in so many different areas!!! Have a beautiful day! 🙂

    Like

    • Sara Jean says:

      Thanks for the lovely compliment. I figured posting irregularly wouldn’t be much of a problem for people who sign up for email notification. Glad you don’t think showing gifts I’m working on will spoil the surprise. I get excited when I am making things and want to show everybody right then!

      Like

Leave a Reply

