White Whole Wheat Corn Bread Recipe

White whole wheat corn bread with apricot preserves

I am working on converting my favorite recipes from using white refined flour to using whole wheat. The white whole wheat I use in this recipe is not bleached or refined. It’s from a different kind of wheat than what we usually think of as whole wheat. White whole wheat is lighter in color and doesn’t seem to make as dense of a baked product as regular (or red) whole wheat. That’s why I use it in some of the more delicate, “cakey” recipes.

I love corn bread. It’s so easy to make. It goes with just about anything. Because I am a vegetarian, I often pair the bean dishes I make with a side of corn bread–or maybe I’ll just dump the beans over a piece of corn bread and dig in. Yum! My favorite way to eat corn bread as a snack or for breakfast is cut in half and spread with apricot preserves. Double Yum!

My recipe is based on “Golden Corn Bread” from The New Good Housekeeping Cookbook (1986 edition). My version is a distant cousin to that one. I do not use salt in my baking recipes. The baking powder provides plenty of sodium. You can use whatever your favorite milk is whether it’s cow milk, almond milk, rice milk or whatever. I think making the recipe with butter tastes a little better, but making it with oil makes the bread moister.

I have not been able to find a whole grain corn meal that I like. When I do, I might need to make adjustments to the recipe, but until then, this is it. I also have not experimented with using honey or maple syrup as the sweetener. Since they contain more liquid, there might need to be adjustments to the amount of flour used with those substitutions. I have tried to make the corn bread with apple sauce instead of egg. That makes a bread that takes like apple cake, not corn bread.

Okay, so enough background. Let’s get baking.

WHITE WHOLE WHEAT CORN BREAD

  • 3/4 cup white whole wheat
  • 3/4 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil or 6 Tablespoons melted butter
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Spray an 8″ x 8″ baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. If using butter, melt the butter in the microwave.
  3. In a medium sized bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. Stir the ingredients together well.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Stir until all the dry ingredients are moistened. You do not want to over stir the batter.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish. Level the batter with a spoon or spatula.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes. The corn bread should be browned around the edges with a small amount of browning on the top of the bread. The top of the bread should be firm and dry to the touch.
  7. Let the bread cool in the baking dish until it is cool enough to eat. You can eat the corn bread warm or cooled to room temperature.
  8. I cut my corn bread into 9 pieces. You can easily double the recipe and bake it in a 13″ x 9″ pan.

It’s as easy as that. Have fun baking and Bon Appetit!

2 thoughts on “White Whole Wheat Corn Bread Recipe

  1. Kate says:

    Thanks for sharing the cornbread at Easter dinner (and the recipe here!). I found that the bread was most moist the day of and the day after baking. It had a more crumbly consistency after that. Still “yummy” especially with honey on it. I might try the oil in the recipe when I make it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

