DIY Tomato Pincushions

Tomato pincushions

This has been a bear of a week. Two doctor appointments, doing too much house cleaning, running too many errands. Needless to say, I’ve also taken quite a few long naps. So, I did a little sewing this week. Sewing is one of those things that make me feel better just because I have thread and fabric in my hands.

About a month ago, I hemmed some curtains for my sister-in-law. While I was working on that project I realized I didn’t own a pincushion. How could that be? I needed to remedy that problem pronto! I remembered seeing a tutorial by Martha Stewart for a tomato pincushion. I perused Pinterest and Google to see if there were other good pattern ideas out there. I found this one {Sew an Old-Fashioned Tomato Pincushion} at petticoatjunctionsmom.blogspot.com. It’s a really good tutorial. She goes through all the steps with pictures to illustrate how she put the pincushion together. I followed her directions for the pincushion on the right. I followed Martha’s directions for an heirloom tomato. That is the pincushion on the left.

Pincusions stuffed and sewn shut (bottoms)

Almost done!

I liked the pincushion I made following Petticoat Junction’s tutorial the best. It gave me the finished product I was looking for. I would definitely use this method again. I used the full 6″ by 12″ piece of fabric to make the pincushion. I would not make the pincushion any larger than that. I think maybe a 4″ by 8″ piece of fabric would also make a good size. I made the heirloom tomato by tracing a 9″ dinner plate onto the fabric and cutting out the circle. I used a couple of handfuls of poly fill for the heirloom tomato and stuffed the other one with about 5 or 6 handfuls.

If I was going to make a pincushion that was attached to a jar or some other container, I would use the heirloom tomato pattern. It’s the perfect size and easy to squash into shape whether you want it flat or more round and tall. I didn’t wrap embroidery floss around the edges of the heirloom tomato pincushion, but I did tack the center to make it sit flatter. That nice domed shape that would make it look good in a can or on a jar lid doesn’t allow it to sit flat on the work surface. What’s the point of having a pincushion if it’s going to roll all over the place? Just a couple stitches fixed that problem. Bottom of heirloom tomato pincushion

While I was making these pincushions, I thought of several more designs I could make. I would like to make one to strap to my wrist when I am pinning patterns to fabric. I also would like to make some that are useful but more decorative. I found a pattern for one in the shape of a dress form. That’s a must have for the sewing nook. I also could make decorative ones in any style by using the heirloom tomato pattern and recycled cat food cans. Or maybe add one to the lid of a mason jar. Hmmm.

You see I don’t have a problem with running out of ideas. Stop by again and you might see those ideas come to life.

Leave a Reply

