Mini album with 4″ by 8″ Policy Envelope Style Pages: Decorated Pages, Part 2

So, can you feel the excitement? If you were sitting here at my craft table, you would be able to feel it. The mini album is nearing completion. This is always an exciting time in the creation of a mini album, when the pages are coming together and it’s about time to bind the whole thing into a completed book.

I have a confession to make. I have never made a photo album. I have made journals. I have kept memorabilia. But I have never made an album where I finished placing photos into a book. I am having so much fun. I love it! Why did no one tell me that this was so much fun? Ummm, wait. I think several people did tell me. Now I have the time and inclination to finish an album. I played around with placing the patterned paper to my liking in the album. I cropped my photos to fit the space on the page or to remove unnecessary background images from the photos. Remember, these were old photos I was working with, before the age of digital editing. I still need to work on my embellishment of the pages. I noticed in one of my pictures that I had planned on placing a flower on the flap of the last page. Can you spot the place? Just use your imagination for now to see a flower there. Ha ha.

In the previous post, I told you I would give you the measurements for the flaps and belly bands I added to the front of the pages.

For the belly bands, I used cardstock from the mat stack that was already sized to 4 1/2″ wide. I cut the height to 5″ and scored the cardstock at 1/2″ from each end on the 5″ side. I used a scallop border punch to make a decorative edge. My punch took off quite a bit of cardstock. If I was not using a mat stack, I would have made the width a little wider so my finished size was 4″ wide. In my example, I show to cut a piece of cardstock 5″ by 4″ and score at 1/2″ and 4 1/2″ on the 5″ side. Fold back on the score lines to make your glue tabs. Glue the tabs to the top and bottom of your page to make the belly band. This will give you a 4″ by 4″ area on the front of the band to decorate or place a picture. I made two of the belly bands, one for page 1 and one for page 5. I cut the tag inserts to 3 7/8″ by 6″. The inserts could be shorter or longer than 6″, but can’t be taller than 3 7/8″ to fit inside the belly band.

For the flaps on pages 2 and 4, I cut Very Vanilla cardstock from Stampin’ Up! to 4″ by 6″ per flap. I scored them at 1″ from the left side on the 6″ side. This gave me a 1″ glue tab which I can use to write a title or journaling for the photo. I cut a total of four flaps, two per page. You can add up to four flaps of this size to each page in this mini album.

For the z-fold flap on page 3, I used a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock cut to 4″ by 12″. I scored this piece at 1″ and 6 1/2″ on the 12″ side. I folded the first score line backwards and the second score line forwards to make the z-fold. I got all of my flaps from one sheet of 12″ by 12″ cardstock. If you are using a different size of cardstock to make your flaps, feel free to adjust the ¬†measurements to your liking. You can add as many to your album as will fit. I liked the simplicity and the symmetry of the ones I used.

Flap and belly band measurements for 4x8 policy envelope mini

Belly band and flap sizes and score lines.

I cut inserts for the envelope pockets at 3 7/8″ by 7 7/8″. This is the largest you can cut the tags so they will fit into the envelopes. I learned that if you put cardstock and photos on both sides of the tag, the tags should be cut at 3 3/4″ wide. If you don’t like dealing with eighths of an inch, feel free to cut the tags to 3 3/4″ by 7 3/4″. This is a perfectly good size. If I make this album again, I might just do that myself.

Page insert maximum size for 4x8" policy envelope.

Here are the backs of the pages of the mini album. I used pieces of patterned paper from the 6″ by 6″ paper pads. I cut them to 4″ by 6″. I trimmed the left edge of the paper to match the opening of the envelope. I used scraps of patterned paper to finish covering the page. I used cardstock from the mat stacks and scraps to decorate the flaps of the envelopes.

4x8 policy envelope mini Pages 1, 2 and 3 back

Pages 1, 2 and 3 (backs).

4x8 policy envelope mini Pages 4 and 5 backs

Pages 4 and 5 (backs).

The white pieces of paper are covering photos of people who might not want their pictures spread all over the internet. The last pictures are of me so I didn’t cover them. Wow, look at those 80’s glasses!

Next week, I’ll show you how I make the cover and bind the album. The mini will be completed then. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

