Mini Album with 4″ by 8″ Policy Envelope Style Pages: The Pages

I have made a few mini albums, but I have yet to make one for myself that holds pictures. I have a pile of photos from my teenage years when I first got a camera (real film!). Back in the day, pictures were printed out at a standard size of 3″ x 5″  3 1/2″ x 5″. I decided to make the pages of my mini album 4″ x 8″. I think this size will house the smaller photos nicely with plenty of room for journaling.

When I design pages for an album, I like to have as little waste as possible. I decided on a design that looks much like a policy envelope. Each page is made from one 8 1/2″ x 11″ sheet of cardstock. The only waste is from the corners that are removed to create the envelope’s flap.

You can make as many pages as you like. I am going to start with five pages made from Neenah 65 lb. Kraft cardstock. The binding I plan to use makes it very easy to add more pages to the album later. No worries about having to tear apart the cover to change the pages. I will show you how to make the cover and binding in the last post in this series. I think you’ll like it.

SCORING THE PAGES

For each page, you will need one 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of cardstock. With the 11″ side of your cardstock facing the top, score your cardstock at 1 1/2″ and 9 1/2″. Make a tick mark at 9 1/4″ (1/4″ before the 9 1/2″ score line) on the top and bottom edges. Turn your cardstock so the 8 1/2″ side is at the top. Score at 2 1/4″ and 6 1/4″.

First image of score lines for 4x8 policy envelope for mini album tutorial.

8 1/2″ x 11″ card stock with score marks shown.

Draw a line from the 1/4″ tick mark from the edge of the cardstock to where the 2 1/4″ and 9 1/2″ score lines intersect on one side and from the other edge to where the 6 1/4″ and 9 1/2″ score lines intersect.

4x8" policy env with scoring and cutting lines marked.

Draw in the angled cut lines with a pencil.

Cut along the line you drew from the 1/4″ tick marks. Cut off the upper and lower right corners as shown below. You can cut off the rectangles and the triangle at the same time. No need to make two cuts.

4x8 policy envelope page with 1/4" triangle removed.

Angled cutting edge with corners removed.

You have the option to keep the cut line straight along the 9 1/2″  score line instead of angled in from the 1/4″ tick marks. I think it looks better to cut a straight line if you want to use a circle punch to make a thumb hole in your envelope opening. Or you can just keep the edge of the envelope straight without the thumb hole. Your choice.

4x8 policy env tutorial 2

Optional straight cutting edge. No need to make the tick marks at 9 1/4″ or draw the angled line with this option.

ASSEMBLING THE PAGES

Crease all your score lines. Fold one of the sides in toward the center of the envelope. Apply glue (or your favorite adhesive) to the outside edge. Apply glue to the inside edge of the other side. Fold the glued sides together to make the envelope. The bottom of the envelope can remain open at this time.

Note: if you are using tape adhesive you will need to use one that is less than 1/4″ wide. A wider tape will leave a sticky border down the center of your envelope.

Glue lines for 4x8" policy envelope page.

Apply two thin lines of glue to make the envelope.

I rounded the corners of the flap closure. You could punch the edge with a decorative border punch or leave the corners square. Again, your choice. Don’t you love crafting and being able to create whatever style suits your mood?

4x8 policy env tutorial 5

Five policy envelope style pages ready to be decorated for my mini album.

In the next two posts, I will show you how I decorate the pages. I am planning on using the 6″ x 6″ paper pads “Front Porch” by Pebbles, “Mayberry” by American Crafts and “Pretty Party” by Crate Paper. No guarantees though. I usually change my mind as I go along. Crafter’s prerogative, right?

Leave a Reply

