Welcome To My New Blog

Let me tell you a bit about me and my new blog.

About Me

I am from a family full of creative people. My parents encouraged us kids to be creative, use what we had and make what we needed. Even my grandparents influenced my creativity with their knitting, crocheting, sewing, painting and metal work. I am disabled and can’t work anymore. I don’t get out of the house as much as I used to. Doing crafts keeps me sane. It keeps me active in a gentle way, and I get to use my creativity, which makes me happy. I’d like to share what I create. Maybe you’ll learn something new or be inspired to make something yourself.

I have lived in Michigan my whole life. I do love it here. It’s just a beautiful place to live, despite the mosquitoes and humidity in the summer and the snow and cold temperatures in the winter. I live with two cats who I call my fuzzy Prozac. Everybody needs a pet to brighten their lives. The cats might even make an appearance on my blog from time to time. (Don’t worry. This blog is not going to be about how cute they are.)

The Blog

I plan to write about all things crafty. I will not only share my creations with you, but I will also share how you can make the projects I have made. You will find a link to another site if I have been inspired by someone else. If the project is of my own design, I will go through the instructions right here on the blog.

My crafty interests are many, so you never know what kind of project I might come up with next. You might see paper crafts like cards, mini albums and journals. You might read about my knitting adventures. I want to do more sewing, so you can read about my successes and failures here. You might even find the occasional recipe that I have developed and that is just too good to keep to myself.

Since I am such an avid reader, I plan to occasionally post book reviews. I will share good books about paper crafting, book binding, cooking, or other crafty things I find interesting. I will let you know what I thought about the book as well as make at least one project from the book to share with you.

I plan on posting at least once a week on Fridays. If I get excited about something, I might just have to write an additional post that week. If I’m working on a larger project, I will most likely break the steps down into several posts. If you choose to work along with me, you won’t have to wait so long for the finished project.

This is the first time I have started a blog. Since I’m just starting out, I would welcome any comments you have that will help me improve my posts. Any suggestions you have about projects or reviews you would like to see are most welcome. Leave your suggestions in the comments or email me at craftedbysarajean@gmail.com.

I hope to meet you back here next week for my very first project.

Thanks for visiting,

Sara Jean

P.S. I am working on a comments policy. A condensed version of the comments policy is: be nice, no profanity, keep your comments related to crafting or whatever the post is about, constructive criticism is fine, being abusive or demeaning is not fine.

2 thoughts on “Welcome To My New Blog

Leave a Reply

